Skip to content

The lure of speed skating.

January 24, 2011
by

This past weekend I skated in my first official skate meet that did not include the word “marathon” in the title. I was really looking forward to the event even though I knew I would not be the fastest or anywhere near the fastest in my age group. The weekend was full of skating, cheering on my children, and cheering for the other skaters both young and master that I am getting to know. The great news was the weekend’s event was just as much fun as I imagined it to be.

The skaters at the event were as young as nine and as old as 70 something all there for a different reason.  Some skaters are training hard with the hope of being an Olympian some day while others just want to win a race in their age group.  I was there as a recreational skater who happens to race one in awhile.  I skate to improve but I do not train, so my goal was to improve on my previous times and I did just that in four out of the five races.

I have spent the last two weekends at skating races I realized that the sport of speed skating loves all the skaters no matter their reason for skating. I was by far the slowest in my age group and there was a large gap between me and the skater ahead of me.  That did not matter as the other skaters and the timers they just shouted encouraging words.  This makes speed skating such a luring sport.  Fresh air, exercise, and wonderful people who give you support and guidance.  I will be enjoying my time on the ice for a long time and I hope one day I too will skate as a Master 70+, maybe even 80+ if I am lucky.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    January 24, 2011 9:36 pm

    I am glad the dare worked in 2008. That you now love skating in 2011. Great job this weekend.

  2. March 10, 2011 10:15 pm

    Your comment resonated a lot. I started skating at 57, and this month, at 60 did my first ever long track meet, the Jack Shea Sprints at the 1980 oval at Lake Placid. I think that long track will last for me long after short track is must too dangerous!

Leave a Reply

