Skip to content

It is All About Personality

November 12, 2011
by

Well, the oval is now open in Roseville, so it will be time to start the season. My first day on the ice will be Tuesday and since I have been busy with school, I was unable to short track during the summer. Instead, I elected to do a lot of biking and running to build my endurance, as well as doing yoga to build my flexibility. Although telling you about my summer training was not what my intent was with this blog post. Instead I wanted to talk about ‘personality’ when it comes to skating.

Last year I got a setup of Maple SL800-BFT boots and blizzard blades. These skates are fabulous, I love them. The lightweightness and the fact that I could heat mold them, really made them feel like these were MY skates and they were made for me. There was another part of my skates that were ME- the skate guards; my old Zandstra skates (the ones that my flat feet hated, not me) had the standard silver zandstra guards, while the new Maple skates would have blue and silver guards. However, this summer I bought a new short track setup and I was short a pair of hard guards, which required me to get another set. And this is where my story begins…

Now before someone starts fretting about leaving my blades in the hard guards. I have a set of soft guards for every setup, and they are never stored in hard guards. Continuing on…

This fall, D got a new setup (she too got the Maple SL800-BFT/blizzard) and we began talking about skate guards. Especially seeing that she was not replacing a pair of skates, but rather adding to her collection. This slowly became a several hour discussion about what colors to choose for skate guards. And you’d think that with 30 choices that it would not take long to make a decision, especially when you get to pick three colors (yeah for long blades). Was I wrong, since I am a bit of a geek when it comes statistics, math doesn’t follow very far behind and the following will show why I was horribly wrong.

Now, the most simplest way of calculating how difficult this choice was, would be to say that order is important and repetition is allowed, where n is the types to choose from and r is the number chosen. Then it would be n^r, or (30^3 = 27,000). Yes, theoretically there are 27,000 possible combinations. Now if we say that we must have different colors, so there is no repetition but we still care about the order, then we have 24,360 options. Yet, only when we don’t care about the order then it drops down to 4,060.

Now I hate all things pink and purple, and putting them near my skates is not an option, so that subtracts 9 choices right there.Which drops 27,000 choices down to 9,261 choices. Or 24,360 choices to 7,980. Finally 4,060 becomes a manageable <yeah right> 1,330.

D and I’s trying, revising, reselecting went on for several hours. It wasn’t until I perked up and said, “It is all about personality.” Did it make sense? Yes, as we did finally make a decision, and it was based on our personality. I chose red-white-green, as I love Italian food. While D chose green-black-gold as to show her love for Guinness.

One final note, if I was a figure skater, I think it would be easy when it comes to blade guards: Costume is red, buy the red guards or red glitter guards. Bonus points only come if your costume is white then you get two pairs in order to not dirty the white pair before the competition season. Don’t worry mom’s of figure skaters I am convinced it is not that way at all. Yet if your child only likes pink and purple, you only need to sort through 81 possible choices, and you do not even need to throw the third guard into the mix.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2011 4:45 pm

    Wow. Yeah. Um, I just matched my skins. Now I feel like a slacker for not making it more complicated.

    • Lisa permalink*
      November 12, 2011 5:50 pm

      It was funny how long it took us to figure out three colors. I think my husband was about ready to pick them out for us and say, “There you go and, we are done!”

  2. November 12, 2011 5:26 pm

    Good to see you on the blog again, and it will be even better to see you on the ice on Tuesday! I’m siting in a Salt Lake City motel room right now, recovering from (and preparing to blog about) day 3 of the Master’s Camp, and hoping to get ready for day 4. Let the season begin! (And I’ll be sure to look for your new guards on the pads on Tuesday!

    • Lisa permalink*
      November 12, 2011 5:49 pm

      I am still waiting for the shipping Gods to tell me that they have been shipped. So it might be Thursday before the new ones are on my skates.

  3. February 25, 2012 11:02 pm

    That was funny!!!! I hope the season turned out to be as successful as the blog entry was!

Leave a Reply

